After A.T. Blog-Weight Management

I’m an avid reader.  I’m reading “wild” by Cheryl Strayed.  I wanted to read it before I see the movie.  I was curious if she went hiking for the same reason I hiked.  It’s early in this book; she has just started the Pacific Crest Trail, here she explains why she chose to hike; “I had to change, not to a different person, but back to the person I use to be”.  This certainly rings a bell.

People hike for many different reasons.  I saw plenty of people who were there strictly for the strenuous exercise.  I know a few who do yoga for the same reason.  I began this hike not only for the exercise, but for peace of mind.  My life seemed empty.  I wished to change everything.  So I chose to change nothing & walk.

During my brief hike, much to my surprise I became aware of how really good my life is, how lucky I am to have what I have.  The physical exertion whittled away the “fat of discontent”.

Now a month later I find myself slipping back, into old ways, of wanting to over indulge, to make up for something I think is lacking.  I have tried repeatedly to run or take even a vigorous walk on my treadmill.  Each time I do this both of my knees complain in a voice I have no choice but to listen to.

So where does this put me? I can slip back, use my knees as an excuse to wallow in unhappiness, or I can accept it & move on.

This brings me to my yoga practice. My guru always suggested to do our practice 6&6…that’s 6:00 AM & 6PM. I have never followed this advice. I believe it is time.

Mother Earth

Leave a Reply

