Blog about creating Tanka Poems…

I’ve written quite a bit of what I call Tanka Poetry.  A friend of mine recently exposed me to the fact that it is not just about syllabification.  So I did some research and found an explanation that is simple enough for me to follow…..not simple to do, but simple to understand.  So I like a challenge & will attempt to make adjustments.

“Poet Jeanne Emrich, for Tanka Online, suggests that you start a tanka by choosing a moment in time you wish to express and describe it in two short lines. Add lines through careful reflection on the subject and utilize the third line to pivot from description of the subject to feelings about the subject. Constrain the poem to 31 syllables or fewer”

Mother Earth

Leave a Reply

