flow

close eyes 001

Watercolor 2007

In yoga, if one is consistent with practice, one will connect to an inner energy.

The energy is always there, but being able to be calm enough to feel it is something that takes practice.  Some of my students are afraid of this.  It makes them feel out of control.  They shut it down.  It is a choice-to feel this connection.

When I paint, I allow this inner energy to come out.  This does not mean that I don’t work-I do.  Whenever I feel like I’m trying too hard, overworking a painting, I give it up for a while.  Most of the time when this happens I’m pushing for a painting that is not my style.  I find that when I paint-I have to accept what is particular to me, allow that inner force to flow out, when this happens I know it’s right.

M.E.

Leave a comment